close

Entrepreneurship with a long tradition

Starting your own business? This is also a career goal that is actively promoted at the University of St.Gallen (HSG) and pursued by many students. They receive support in a variety of ways: on the one hand, through appropriate courses, student initiatives or the offers of Startup@HSG, the control centre for entrepreneurship at the HSG.

Being an entrepreneur oneself is a dream shared by many, with several tens of thousands of companies being founded in Switzerland every year. At the University of St.Gallen (HSG) alone, hundreds of start-ups have emerged over the past few years, including household names like Abacus, Namics or Wefox, but also younger and up-and-coming start-ups like Planted, OnlineDoctor, and Collect-ID. Over 160 of these companies bear the official HSG Spin-Off label
 
We aim to specifically cultivate the entrepreneurial spirit of HSG students. Startup@HSG introduces students to the many facets of entrepreneurship and promotes technology-oriented and knowledge-intensive start-up projects at the HSG. 

Contributions to the topic entrepreneurship

"HSG Talents"

The core of Startup@HSG is the HSG Entrepreneurial Talents programme: Every year, 20 scholarships are awarded to selected students of the HSG, enabling them to work intensively on their business idea for one semester and to bring it to market maturity, closely supported by Startup@HSG. More than 130 start-ups have meanwhile emerged from this programme alone.

Advice, coordination and office space

Headed by Prof. Dr. Dietmar Grichnik, the Center for Entrepreneurship is the driving force behind Startup@HSG and advises prospective founders and University of St.Gallen students. It brings together students and academics from the HSG with external partners from research and practice and coordinates the courses on entrepreneurship and much more. 

Students and other HSG members are always welcome to seek individual coaching, to exchange ideas with the Startup@HSG team and get a start-up going. All other offers can be found on the Startup@HSG website.

to Startup@HSG

Bettina Hein
“At HSG I learned the tools I needed for my entrepreneurial career. Even as a 22-year-old student body president, I was responsible for a budget in the millions and 150 student volunteers. What other university can offer you this?”
Bettina Hein, Serial Entrepreneur
Julian Teicke
“In Europe, there is no better springboard and network than that of HSG for achieving sustainable business success as a founder.”
Julian Teicke, founder and CEO of wefox
Pascal Bieri
“As a real hands-on institution, HSG gave me a taste of entrepreneurship early on. The joy of having a positive impact in business is exemplified at HSG.”
Pascal Bieri, co-founder of Planted 

Innovation Park Ost

Together with other well-known partners, HSG is also the responsible for Switzerland Innovation Park Ost AG, which operates its own start-up promotion with Startfeld. The incubator is the heart and hub of the Startfeld ecosystem and has already accommodated numerous HSG spin-offs.

START Global

START Global is a leading student organization for entrepreneurship and tech. They lay the foundation for fostering and accelerating regional entrepreneurship ecosystems globally and empowering the next generation of entrepreneurs with their community of several hundred active (student) members in START Network. START Global want to help create a better understanding of tomorrow's technological opportunities.

More on topic

north

close

Entrepreneurship mit langer Tradition

Ein eigenes Unternehmen gründen? Auch das ist eine Karriereziel, das an der Universität St.Gallen (HSG) aktiv gefördert und von vielen Studierenden verfolgt wird. Dabei erhalten sie auf vielfältige Weise Unterstützung: Zum einen über entsprechende Kurse, studentische Initiativen oder die Angebote von Startup@HSG, der Schaltzentrale für Unternehmertum an der HSG.

Selbst Unternehmerin oder Unternehmer zu sein, ist ein weit verbreiteter Traum. So werden in der Schweiz mehrere Zehntausend Firmen pro Jahr gegründet. Allein an der Universität St.Gallen (HSG) sind während der vergangenen Jahre Hunderte von Startups entstanden, darunter altbekannte Namen wie Abacus, Namics oder Wefox aber auch jüngere und aufstrebende Startups wie Planted, OnlineDoctor, und Collect-ID. Über 160 dieser Firmen tragen das offizielle HSG Spin-Off Label.

Der Unternehmergeist der HSG-Studierenden soll besonders gepflegt werden. Startup@HSG bringt den Studierenden die Facetten des Unternehmertums nahe und fördert technologieorientierte und wissensintensive Gründungsprojekte an der HSG.

Beiträge zum Thema Entrepreneurship

«HSG Talents»

Herzstück von Startup@HSG ist das HSG Entrepreneurial Talents Programm: jährlich werden 20 Stipendien an ausgewählte Studierende der HSG vergeben, die es ihnen erlauben, über ein Semester intensiv und von Startup@HSG eng begleitet, an ihrer Geschäftsidee zu arbeiten und diese zur Marktreife zu bringen. Mittlerweile sind alleine aus diesem Programm bereits über 130 Startups entstanden.

Beratung, Koordination und Büroräume

Das Center for Entrepreneurship unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Dietmar Grichnik ist der Impulsgeber von Startup@HSG und berät angehende Gründer*innen und aus den Reihen der Universität St.Gallen. Es bringt Studierende und Wissenschaftler der HSG mit externen Partnern aus Forschung und Praxis zusammen und koordiniert die Lehrangebote zu Entrepreneurship und vieles mehr.

Für ein individuelles Coaching sind Studierende und auch sonstige HSG-Angehörige jederzeit willkommen, um sich mit dem Startup@HSG-Team auszutauschen und den weiteren Startup-Weg aufzugleisen. Sämtliche weiteren Angebote finden sich auf der Website von Startup@HSG.

Zu Startup@HSG

Bettina Hein
«An der HSG habe ich das Handwerkszeug für meine unternehmerische Laufbahn gelernt. Schon als Studentenschaftspräsidentin war ich verantwortlich für ein Millionenbudget und 150 studentische Freiwillige. Welche andere Hochschule kann einem dies bieten?»
Bettina Hein, Serial Entrepreneur
Julian Teicke
«In Europa gibt es kein besseres Sprungbrett und Netzwerk als das der HSG, um nachhaltige Unternehmenserfolge als Gründer zu erzielen.»
Julian Teicke, Gründer und CEO wefox
Pascal Bieri
«Die HSG als sehr praxisorientierte Institution hat mich früh auf den Geschmack des Unternehmertums gebracht. Die Freude daran, in der Wirtschaft einen positiven Impact zu generieren, wird an der HSG vorgelebt.»
Pascal Bieri, Mitgründer Planted 

Innovation Park Ost

Gemeinsam mit weiteren namhaften Partnern ist die HSG auch Trägerin der Switzerland Innovation Park Ost AG, welche mit Startfeld eine eigene Start-up-Förderung betreibt. Der Inkubator ist Herz und Hub des Startfeld-Ökosystems und hat schon viele Ausgründungen der HSG beherbergt. 

START Global

START Global ist eine führende Studierendenorganisation für Unternehmertum und Technologie. Sie legt den Grundstein für die Förderung und den Ausbau regionaler unternehmerischer Ökosysteme auf der ganzen Welt und stärkt die nächste Generation von Unternehmerinnen und Unternehmern mit ihrer Gemeinschaft von mehreren hundert aktiven (studentischen) Mitgliedern im START-Netzwerk. START Global möchte dazu beitragen, ein besseres Verständnis für die technologischen Möglichkeiten von morgen zu schaffen.

Mehr zum Thema

north