close

Responsibility and Sustainability

Responsibility and sustainability are at the core of the University of St.Gallen’s strategy. HSG takes a holistic approach, considering how economic activity is embedded into society and the limits of the planetary boundaries. Our overarching goals are to: prepare our students to become leaders in a world that must solve severe environmental and social crises, and to lead by example mitigating our environmental footprint to become carbon neutral by 2030.

Responsibility and Sustainability has a long history at the University of St.Gallen (HSG) and is integrated into its governance structures. In the late 1980s and early 1990s, the sustainability student association oikos, the Institute for Business Ethics (IWE-HSG) and the Institute for Economy and the Environment (IWÖ-HSG) were founded. In 2010, the President’s Delegate for Responsibility & Sustainability role was established, with an official mandate to steer the University’s sustainability activities.

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) serve as a guiding framework for social and environmental topics relevant to the University.HSG has been a member of UN PRME since 2010 and produces biennial PRME reports. In 2019, HSG signed the SDG Accord joining the UNFCCC’s Race to Zero to become carbon neutral by 2030. 

Our environmental strategy was developed in 2020 and is guided by the Planetary Boundaries framework, with three focal themes: climate change, biodiversity loss, and circular economy. In 2022, the Social Sustainability Working Group was established to integrate socio-ecological and socio-economic topics more deeply into the overarching sustainability strategy. In addition, HSG also has an Equality, Diversity and Inclusion strategy embedded into the University’s strategic plan.

Contributions on the topics of responsibility and sustainability

Integrating sustainability into teaching

Integrating sustainability into teaching at all levels of education is an integral part of HSG sustainability strategy, supported by the Delegate Responsibility & Sustainability (R&S) team. In 2019, the certificate programme Managing Climate Solution (MaCS) was established, providing an opportunity for students to supplement their chosen Master’s degree. Our Executive School offers a broad range of sustainability-related content as well as specific courses on Renewable Energy Management and Sustainability for Business Excellence. The R&S team supports the development of extra-curricular activities on sustainability topics. The R&S ECOnnect platform supports more than 15 student organizations on topics such as sustainable consulting and finance. The team also initiated the Sustainability Mentoring Programme and organises many events.

“Our deep history with sustainability, rooted in student activism, teaching and research, means that we are well-positioned to take a leading role.”
Prof. Judith Walls, Delegate Responsibility and Sustainability, Director Institute for Economy and the Environment.
“Climate change is one of the greatest challenges of our times. As future leaders in business and society, our students will have to navigate a carbon-constrained world. The MaCS programme prepares them to become part of the solution.”
Prof. Rolf Wüstenhagen, Academic Director, Master’s certificate in Managing Climate Solutions
“With respect to its three missions—education, generation of knowledge and dissemination of expertise for a positive impact on society—our strategy builds on the integration of ecological, social and economic thought and action.”
Prof. Dirk Lehmkuhl, Lead Working Group on Social and Economic Sustainability, Director Competence Center for Social Innovation

Research on sustainability in various areas

HSG ranks in the top three European business schools in terms of publications on the SDGs, according to the Financial Times. At least a third of the University's Institutes and Centres conduct research in the area of sustainability addressing topics on the natural environment, ethics, leadership and values, diversity, inclusion, social and responsible innovation, circular economy, and the global south. Over the last couple of years, HSG has increasingly sought out new hires to support its goal to develop sustainability excellence. In addition, the HSG Impact Scholar Community was created in 2020 to connect and support sustainability scholars. Finally, the HSG joined the Alliance for Research on Corporate Sustainability (ARCS) during 2022.

Environmental sustainability on campus

To become carbon neutral, HSG established the Climate Solutions Taskforce (CST). Most of the goals set by the CST pertain to campus activities, working closely with the University administration in the areas of accounting, procurement and supply chain, mobility, infrastructure and energy, and divestment from fossil fuels. In 2022, HSG released its first Greenhouse Gas (GHG) Protocol report. Since 2007, HSG has been certified for the near-natural design of its environment by the Nature & Economy Foundation. HSG is also a member of the Blue Community to ensure efficient use of water.

More on topic

north

close

Verantwortung und Nachhaltigkeit

Verantwortung und Nachhaltigkeit sind ein zentraler Bestandteil der Strategie der Universität St.Gallen. Die HSG verfolgt einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz und berücksichtigt dabei die Einbettung der Wirtschaftstätigkeit in die Gesellschaft ebenso wie die Grenzen unseres Planeten. Unsere übergeordneten Ziele sind: unsere Studierenden darauf vorzubereiten, in einer Welt, die schwere ökologische und soziale Krisen bewältigen muss, Führungspositionen einzunehmen und mit gutem Beispiel voranzugehen, indem wir unseren ökologischen Fussabdruck verkleinern, bis wir 2030 CO2-neutral sind.

Verantwortung und Nachhaltigkeit haben an der Universität St.Gallen (HSG) eine lange Geschichte und sind in ihre Governance-Strukturen integriert. In den späten 1980ern und frühen 1990ern wurden der studentische Nachhaltigkeitsverein oikos, das Institut für Wirtschaftsethik (IWE-HSG) und das Institut für Wirtschaft und Ökologie (IWÖ-HSG) gegründet. 2010 wurde die Rolle der Delegierten des Rektors für Verantwortung und Nachhaltigkeit eingeführt, deren offizieller Auftrag lautete, die Nachhaltigkeitsbemühungen der Universität zu steuern.

Die Nachhaltigen Entwicklungsziele (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs) liefern den Orientierungsrahmen für die sozialen und ökologische Themen der Universität. Die HSG ist seit 2010 Mitglied von UN PRME und erstellt alle zwei Jahre PRME-Berichte. 2019 unterzeichnete die HSG das SDG Accord und trat dem Race to Zero von UNFCCC bei, mit dem Ziel, bis 2030 CO2-neutral zu werden. 

Unsere Umweltstrategie wurde 2020 entwickelt und wird von dem Rahmenwerk Planetary Boundaries mit drei Schwerpunktthemen angeleitet: Klimawandel, Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt und Kreislaufwirtschaft. 2022 wurde die Arbeitsgruppe soziale Nachhaltigkeit gegründet, um sozioökologische und sozioökonomische Aspekte tiefer in der übergreifenden Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie zu verankern. Darüber hinaus verfügt die HSG auch über eine Strategie für Gleichstellung, Diversität und Inklusion, die im Strategic Plan der Universität verankert ist.

Beiträge zu den Themen Verantwortung und Nachhaltigkeit

Integration von Nachhaltigkeit in die Lehre

Nachhaltigkeit auf allen Ebenen in die Lehre zu integrieren, ist integraler Bestandteil der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie der HSG und wird durch das Team Delegate Responsibility & Sustainability (R&S) unterstützt. 2019 wurde das Zertifikatsprogramm Managing Climate Solution (MaCS) eingerichtet, mit dem Studierende ihren gewählten Masterabschluss ergänzen können. Unsere Executive School bietet eine breite Palette von Inhalten mit Bezug zu Nachhaltigkeit, sowie spezielle Kurse zu Management von erneuerbaren Energien und Sustainability for Business Excellence. Das R&S-Team unterstützt auch die Entwicklung von ausserschulischen Aktivitäten zu Nachhaltigkeitsthemen. Die R&S-Plattform ECOnnect unterstützt über 15 studentische Organisationen zu Themen wie nachhaltige Beratung und nachhaltige Finanzen. Das Team hat auch das Sustainability Mentoring Programme ins Leben gerufen und organisiert viele Veranstaltungen.

«Unsere lange Geschichte in Verbindung mit Nachhaltigkeit, die aus studentischem Aktivismus, Lehre und der Forschung entstanden ist, bedeutet, dass wir gut positioniert sind, um eine führende Rolle zu übernehmen.»
Prof. Judith Walls, Delegierte für Verantwortung und Nachhaltigkeit, Direktorin Institut für Wirtschaft und Ökologie
«Der Klimawandel ist eine der grössten Herausforderungen unserer Zeit. Als künftige Führungskräfte müssen sich unsere Studierenden in einer Welt mit begrenzten Ressourcen zurechtfinden. Das MaCS-Programm bereitet sie darauf vor, Teil der Lösung zu sein.»
Prof. Rolf Wüstenhagen, Akademischer Direktor, Zertifikatsprogramm Managing Climate Solutions.
«In Bezug auf die drei Missionen – Bildung, Wissensgenerierung und Verbreitung von Fachwissen für einen positiven Einfluss auf die Gesellschaft – baut unsere Strategie auf die Integration von ökologischem, sozialem und wirtschaftlichem Denken und Handeln.»
Prof. Dirk Lehmkuhl, Lead Arbeitsgruppe soziale und wirtschaftliche Nachhaltigkeit, Direktor Kompetenzzentrum für soziale Innovation

Forschung zur Nachhaltigkeit in verschiedenen Bereichen

Die HSG zählt laut Financial Times zu den drei besten europäischen Business Schools in Bezug auf Veröffentlichungen zum Thema SDGs. Mindestens ein Drittel der Institute und Centers der Universität forschen zu Nachhaltigkeit und befassen sich mit Themen wie natürliche Umwelt, Ethik, Führung und Werte, Vielfalt, Inklusion, soziale und verantwortungsvolle Innovation, Kreislaufwirtschaft und globaler Süden. In den vergangenen Jahren hat die HSG verstärkt nach neuen Mitarbeitenden gesucht, um hervorragende Leistungen im Bereich Nachhaltigkeit zu fördern. Zusätzlich wurde 2020 die HSG Impact Scholar Community geschaffen, um Wissenschaftler zu vernetzen und Nachhaltigkeit zu fördern. Schliesslich schloss sich die HSG 2022 der Alliance for Research on Corporate Sustainability (ARCS) an.

Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit am Campus

Um CO2-neutral zu werden, hat die HSG die Climate Solutions Taskforce (CST) ins Leben gerufen. Die meisten der von der CST festgelegten Ziele beziehen sich auf die Aktivitäten auf dem Campus und in den Bereichen Rechnungswesen, Beschaffung und Lieferkette, Mobilität, Infrastruktur und Energie sowie Verzicht auf fossile Brennstoffe wird eng mit der Universitätsverwaltung zusammengearbeitet. 2022 veröffentlichte HSG den ersten Greenhouse Gas (GHG) Protocol-Bericht. 2007 erhielt die HSG für die naturnahe Gestaltung ihres Umfelds eine Zertifizierung von der Nature & Economy Foundation. Zudem ist die HSG Mitglied der Blue Community, um eine effiziente Nutzung von Wasser zu gewährleisten.

Mehr zum Thema

north