close

Rankings and accreditations

The high nationally and internationally acknowledged quality of its work in teaching, research and executive education is of crucial importance to the University of St.Gallen. Ranking results and accreditations provide us with an information basis and serve as measures for quality assurance and continuous quality development.

International accreditations

Its integrative education at the highest academic level earned the University of St.Gallen the seals of approval of the EQUIS accreditation in 2001, the AACSB accreditation in 2003 and the AMBA accreditation in 2019. Thus, besides the Swiss national accreditation, the University of St.Gallen is in possession of the three international accreditations that are most relevant to its fields of expertise. The HSG now holds the so-called "triple crown".

The latest EQUIS reaccreditation process was concluded in spring 2018. AACSB renewed its accreditation of the University of St.Gallen in autumn 2018.

National accreditations

In Switzerland, all institutions of tertiary education regularly underwent a quality audit until 2015. In 2014, the University of St.Gallen satisfied the requirements of the third quality audit of public universities in Switzerland. With the entry into force of the Federal Act on Funding and Coordination of the Swiss Higher Education Sector (HEdA) in early 2015, the accreditation of Swiss universities was subject to new regulations. Now, all the public or private institutions of higher education which want to be perceived as a university, Fachhochschule or Pädagogische Hochschule must undergo an "institutional accreditation". This institutional accreditation remains one of the requirements to be satisfied in order to be granted federal funds.

Rankings

For several years, various organisations have drawn up and published media-effective rankings of universities. These university rankings can now be found for all university fields of activity: teaching, research and executive education. The objects of rankings are individual degree courses, disciplines, programme types or the university as a whole. There are rankings at a national level, at the level of the language area, at a European level and at a global level.

Ranking objectives and methods

With regard to the ranking objectives and methods, the diversity is similarly great to that among the ranking providers. In this respect, it is not only the educational institutions as a public provider which play a role, but increasingly also the media. Accordingly, what is understood by quality and education covers a wide range and diversity. The same applies to the measuring methods.

Contact

Karen Tinsner-Fuchs

Dr.

Head of Quality Development

Qualitätsentwicklung
Büro 58-329
Tellstrasse 2
9000 St. Gallen
north

close

Rankings und Akkreditierungen

Für die Universität St.Gallen ist eine hohe und national sowie international anerkannte Qualität unserer Leistungen in Lehre, Forschung und Weiterbildung von entscheidender Bedeutung. Rankingergebnisse und Akkreditierungen dienen uns als Informationsgrundlage sowie als Massnahmen zur Qualitätssicherung und kontinuierlichen Qualitätsentwicklung.

Internationale Akkreditierungen

Für ihre ganzheitliche Ausbildung auf höchstem akademischem Niveau erhielt die Universität St.Gallen 2001 mit der EQUIS-Akkreditierung,  2003 mit der AACSB-Akkreditierung und 2019 mit der AMBA-Akkreditierung internationale Gütesiegel. Die Universität St.Gallen besitzt neben der schweizerischen Akkreditierung auch die für ihre Fachgebiete drei relevantesten internationalen Akkreditierungen und verfügt damit über die sogenannte «Triple Crown».

Der jüngste EQUIS-Reakkreditierungsprozess wurde im Frühjahr 2018 abgeschlossen. AACSB hat die Akkreditierung der Universität St.Gallen im Herbst 2018 erneuert.

Nationale Akkreditierungen

In der Schweiz durchliefen bis 2015 alle universitären Hochschulen regelmäßig ein Quality Audit. Die Universität St. Gallen hatte 2014 die Anforderungen des dritten Quality Audits der öffentlichen Universitäten der Schweiz erfüllt. Mit in Kraft treten des Hochschulförderungs- und -koordinationsgesetzes (HFKG) Anfang 2015 ist die Akkreditierung von Schweizer Hochschulen neu geregelt. Neu müssen sich alle öffentlichen oder privaten Hochschulen, die sich als «Universität», «Fachhochschule» oder «Pädagogische Hochschule» bezeichnen möchten, einer «Institutionellen Akkreditierung» unterziehen. Weiterhin ist die institutionelle Akkreditierung auch eine der Voraussetzungen, welche die Hochschulen erfüllen müssen, um Bundesbeiträge zu erhalten.

Rankings

Seit mehreren Jahren werden von diversen Organisationen medienwirksame Ranglisten von Universitäten erstellt und publiziert. Diese Hochschulrankings finden sich heute für alle Tätigkeitsbereiche der Universitäten: Lehre, Forschung und Weiterbildung. Objekte von Rankings sind einzelne Studiengänge, Disziplinen, Programmtypen oder auch die Universität als Ganzes. Rankings gibt es auf nationaler Ebene, auf Ebene des Sprachraumes, auf europäischer Ebene und auf globaler Ebene.

Rankingziele und -methoden

Bezüglich der Rankingziele und -methoden gibt es eine ähnlich grosse Vielfalt wie unter den Anbietern von Rankings. Hier spielen neben Bildungsinstitutionen als Anbieter insbesondere auch die Medien eine immer grössere Rolle. Was dabei unter Qualität und was unter Bildung verstanden wird, ist entsprechend breitgefächert und unterschiedlich. Gleiches gilt für die Messmethoden.

Kontakt

north