close

Diversity & Inclusion

Equal opportunities, diversity and inclusion are central aspects in the University of St.Gallen’s pursuit of excellence, fairness and responsibility. We see diversity as an opportunity, and respect as indispensable. In order to ensure this, HSG has specific specialist offices that work to further develop the university in this regard and ensure a comprehensive advisory service for students and employees.

Equal opportunities and personal integrity have the highest priority at the University of St.Gallen (HSG). The HSG strives to provide framework conditions that allow everyone, regardless of gender, skin colour, social and cultural background, sexual orientation, health and physical impairments, to enjoy studying, teaching, researching and working here equally and successfully. To this end, the HSG also has a Committee for Gender Equality.

Brochures

Guidelines for inclusive language (in German)

Protecting Personal Integrity at the University of St.Gallen

The Diversity & Inclusion team offers professional support and advice both for organisational units of the university and for individuals seeking advice. Students and employees are advised personally and confidentially. This also applies, for example, to concerns relating to personal integrity or sub-areas of the HSG Ethics Code.

The Special Needs Advice Centre is the contact point for enquiries about studying/working with a disability and/or chronic illness, as well as specific health needs as a result of psychosocial stress. HSG strives to continuously expand structural and digital accessibility.

The Equal Opportunities Advice Centre is the contact point for all other aspects of equal opportunities along the diversity dimensions of gender, sexual orientation, social, ethnic and cultural origin, and for concerns relating to personal integrity or sub-areas of the HSG Ethics Code.

“Our HSG Ethics Code states that we use inclusive language to ensure that everyday life at the university is free of discrimination. Our language guidelines support everyone in implementing inclusion linguistically using different and creative means.”
Prof. Dr. Christa Binswanger, Titular Professor and Head of Department Gender & Diversity
“Everyone should feel fully accepted and welcome on the HSG campus! This is the only way we can develop freely here. Since the founding of the LGBTQ+ Pride Month Initiative, we know that this is an important concern of very many HSG members.”
Andreas Oberholzer, HSG alumnus and initiator of Pride Month at HSG
“At the HSG, there is a very active research community on D&I topics that is also active locally on a practical level. The annual D&I Week, where researchers present their results in relevant formats, is a good showcase for this: from insight to impact!”
Prof. Dr Julia Nentwich, Titular Professor at the Chair of Organisational Psychology
“The University of St.Gallen creates inclusive conditions for individuals like me to feel valued and succeed. The HSG does not tolerate discrimination and truly embraces the uniqueness of employees and students from an intersectional perspective.”
Christian Pierce, Ph.D. student in the DOK Programme with a research focus on antiracism, Assistant Lecturer
“Diverse teams are more successful when it comes to finding innovative solutions for future challenges. At HSG we teach students to enable them to use that potential as 'inclusive leaders'.”
Prof. Dr. Gudrun Sander, Professor of Business Administration with a special emphasis on Diversity Management, Senior Lecturer
“Aggregating the experience and knowledge of the diversity of people for sustainable benefit requires a change in values towards equality. At the HSG, we therefore teach and live inclusion as mutual participation on an equal level.”
Prof. Dr. Nils Henrik Jent, Affiliate Professor of Diversity Management

Diversity & Inclusion in teaching and research

Equal opportunities, diversity and inclusion are central aspects of high-quality teaching and research. Diversity as a holistic and deep-rooted interdisciplinary cornerstone strengthens innovativeness and competitiveness and also informs the perception of our social responsibility and the awareness of socio-political challenges.

The Department Gender & Diversity at the School of Humanities and Social Sciences (SHSS) focuses on today’s working world and society, which in many areas are organised along gender differences and other distinctions, such as migration background, sexual orientation, ability or age.

 

Beiträge zu den Themen Chancengleichheit, Diversität und Inklusion

At the Research Institute for Organizational Psychology (OPSY-HSG), gender and diversity in the context of work and organisation constitutes a research focus. With the programme “Leaders for Equality: Managers Taking Opportunities”, companies are supported in involving male managers in gender equality issues.

The Centre for Disability and Integration (CDI-HSG) is an interdisciplinary research centre that investigates the occupational inclusion of people with disabilities, as well as related topics, taking the perspective of the three disciplines of business management, economics and applied disability research. The knowledge gained is transferred both to university teaching and to entrepreneurial and business practice.

The Competence Centre for Diversity and Inclusion (CCDI) also offers consultations and training for companies on the topics of anti-racism, equal opportunities, diversity and inclusion, as well as unconscious biases. With St.Gallen Diversity Benchmarking, the CCDI publishes the largest benchmarking report on diversity and inclusion in Switzerland and organises the renowned Diversity & Inclusion Week every year.

More on topic

north

close

Diversity & Inclusion

Chancengleichheit, Diversität und Inklusion sind zentrale Aspekte im Streben der Universität St.Gallen (HSG) nach Exzellenz, Fairness und Verantwortungsbewusstsein. Diversität betrachten wir als Chance, Respekt als unabdingbar. Um dies zu gewährleisten, verfügt die HSG über spezifische Fachstellen, die daran arbeiten, die Universität in dieser Hinsicht weiterzuentwickeln und ein umfassendes Beratungsangebot für Studierende und Mitarbeitende sicherstellen.

Chancengleichheit und persönliche Integrität haben an der Universität St.Gallen (HSG) höchste Priorität. Die HSG ist bestrebt, für Rahmenbedingungen zu sorgen, die es allen erlauben, unabhängig von Geschlecht, Hautfarbe, sozialer und kultureller Herkunft, sexueller Orientierung, gesundheitlichen und physischen Beeinträchtigungen, hier gleichermassen gerne und erfolgreich zu studieren, zu lehren, zu forschen und zu arbeiten. Zu diesem Zweck verfügt die HSG auch über eine Gleichstellungskommission.

Das Team Diversity & Inclusion bietet fachliche Unterstützung und Beratung sowohl für Organisationseinheiten der Universität als auch für individuelle Ratsuchende. Studierende und Mitarbeitende werden persönlich und vertraulich beraten. So etwa auch bei Anliegen, welche die persönliche Integrität oder Teilbereiche des Kodex HSG betreffen.

Dokumente

Leitfaden für eine inklusive Sprache

Schutz der persönlichen Integrität im Studium und am Arbeitsplatz

Die Fachstelle Special Needs ist die Anlaufstelle für Anfragen rund um die Themen Studium/Arbeit mit Behinderung und/oder chronischer Krankheit, sowie spezifischen gesundheitlichen Bedürfnissen als Folge von psychosozialen Belastungen. Die HSG ist bestrebt, die bauliche und digitale Barrierefreiheit kontinuierlich auszubauen.

Die Fachstelle Chancengleichheit ist die Anlaufstelle für alle weiteren Aspekte der Chancengleichheit entlang der Diversitätsdimensionen Geschlecht, sexuelle Orientierung, soziale, ethnische und kulturelle Herkunft, und bei Anliegen, welche die persönliche Integrität oder Teilbereiche des Kodex HSG betreffen.

«Unser Kodex hält fest: Wir achten auf inklusive Sprache, um den universitären Alltag diskriminierungsfrei zu gestalten. Unser Sprachleitfaden unterstützt alle an der HSG, Inklusion sprachlich mit unterschiedlichen und kreativen Mitteln umzusetzen.»
Prof. Dr. Christa Binswanger, Titularprofessorin und Fachbereichsleiterin Gender & Diversity
«Auf dem HSG Campus sollen sich alle vollständig akzeptiert und willkommen fühlen! Nur so können wir uns hier frei entfalten. Seit der Gründung der LGBTQ+ Pride Month Initiative wissen wir, dass dies ein wichtiges Anliegen sehr vieler HSG-Angehöriger ist.»
Andreas Oberholzer, HSG-Alumnus und Initiator des Pride Month an der HSG
«An der HSG gibt es eine sehr aktive Forschungscommunity zu D&I Themen, die zugleich lokal in der Praxis aktiv ist. Die jährliche D&I Woche, an der Forschende ihre Ergebnisse in für die Praxis relevanten Formaten präsentieren, ist hierfür ein Schaufenster.»
Prof. Dr. Julia Nentwich, Titularprofessorin am Lehrstuhl für Organisationspsychologie
«Die HSG schafft inklusive Bedingungen für Menschen wie mich, damit sie sich wertgeschätzt fühlen und erfolgreich sein können. Sie duldet keine Diskriminierung und nimmt die Einzigartigkeit von Mitarbeitenden und Studierenden wahr.»
Christian Pierce, Doktorand im DOK-Programm mit Forschungsschwerpunkt Antirassismus, Lehrbeauftragter
«Heterogene Teams sind erfolgreicher, besonders wenn es darum geht, Innovationen und Lösungen für die Herausforderungen der Zukunft zu finden. An der HSG bilden wir Studierende aus, damit sie als 'inclusive leaders' dieses Potenzial nutzen können.»
Prof. Dr. Gudrun Sander, Titularprofessorin für Betriebswirtschaftslehre mit besonderer Berücksichti-gung des Diversity Managements
«Damit aus dem Generieren von Wissen ein nachhaltiger Nutzen entsteht, ist ein Werthaltungswandel hin zur Gleichwertigkeit der Menschen unerlässlich. An der HSG lehren und leben wir Inklusion, darunter verstehen wir die gegenseitige Teilhabe auf Augenhöhe.»
Prof. Dr. Nils Henrik Jent, Titularprofessor für Diversity Management

Diversity & Inclusion in Lehre und Forschung

Chancengleichheit, Diversität und Inklusion sind zentrale Aspekte einer qualitativ hochwertigen Lehre und Forschung. Diversität als ganzheitlich verankerte Querschnittsaufgabe stärkt die Innovationsfähigkeit und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und unterstützt zudem die Wahrnehmung gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung und die Sensibilität für gesellschaftspolitische Herausforderungen.

Der Fachbereich Gender & Diversity an der School of Humanities and Social Sciences (SHSS) nimmt heutige Arbeitswelt und Gesellschaft in den Blick, die in vielen Bereichen entlang von Geschlechterdifferenz und entlang weiterer Differenzen – wie beispielsweise Migrationshintergrund, sexuelle Orientierung, Ability oder Alter – organisiert sind.

Beiträge zu den Themen Chancengleichheit, Diversität und Inklusion

Am Lehrstuhl für Organisationspsychologie (OPSY-HSG) bildet Gender & Diversität im Kontext von Arbeit und Organisation einen Forschungsschwerpunkt. Mit dem Programm «Leaders for Equality: Führungskräfte nutzen Chancen» werden Unternehmen beim Einbezug männlicher Führungskräfte in Gleichstellungsanliegen unterstützt.

Das Center for Disability and Integration (CDI-HSG) untersucht als interdisziplinäres Forschungscenter die berufliche Inklusion von Menschen mit Behinderung sowie verwandte Themenfelder und nimmt dabei die Perspektive der drei Fachbereiche Betriebswirtschaft, Volkswirtschaft und Angewandte Disability-Forschung ein. Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse werden sowohl in die universitäre Lehre als auch in die unternehmerische Praxis transferiert.

Das Kompetenzzentrum für Diversity und Inklusion (CCDI) bietet auch für Unternehmen Beratungen sowie Trainings rund um die Thema Anti-Rassismus, Chancengleichheit, Diversität und Inklusion sowie unbewussten Vorurteilen (Unconscious Biases) an. Das CCDI publiziert mit dem St.Gallen Diversity Benchmarking das schweizweit grösste Benchmarking zum Thema Diversität und Inklusion und veranstaltet jährlich die renommierte Diversity & Inclusion Week.

Mehr zum Thema

north