close

Business Administration

In the Assessment Year, the course Business Administration introduces students to key concepts, conceptual categories and current management theory.

 

Business Administration focuses on a systemic, process-oriented understanding of management, organization and environment. Students learn about the main tasks, challenges and dilemmas of management. Lectures, exercises and independent studies are based on the tradition of St.Gallen management research and the St.Gallen Management Model (SGMM). This serves as a frame of reference, a mental map, in order to be able to classify and master modern management challenges in the context of their social, ecological, economic and technological environment. The goal is to convey an understanding of the fundamental knowledge necessary for responsible integrative management and entrepreneurial behavior.

Particular focus is placed in the Assessment Year on business and management processes and the related issues of responsible organizational value creation (Autumn and beginning of Spring semesters) and on financial management with a focus on how to ensure and report the financial success of an enterprise (Spring Semester).

Business Administration A: Introduction and Fundamentals

 

Marketing Management

This first part of the course Marketing Management focuses on the central design fields of customer-centric value creation in modern companies. Students are introduced to a business perspective with an analytical-conceptual task focus.
 

The St.Gallen Management Model

The second part of the course, The St.Gallen Management Model focuses on the question of what challenges arise in the intense examination of different fields of activity and design, taking into account modern division of labor and the rise of subject specialization. We will address the question of how to design effective management practice with the goal of facilitating successful co-evolution of the environment and the organization. Here, students are introduced to a communication-centric perspective on environment, organization and management practice.

Business Administration B: The St.Gallen Management Model incl. Business Ethics, Financial Management.

 

The St.Gallen Management Model incl. Business Ethics

At the beginning of the Spring Semester, The St.Gallen Management Model continues where it left off by presenting the implications of business ethics in a systemic perspective on organization, environment and management. Students learn the importance of ethical-philosophical questions and value-based foundational orientation, with a focus on responsibility and sustainability, as an integral part of management practice.
 

Financial Management

The third part of the course, Financial Management shows how the success of a company can be ensured and presented from the point of view of a CFO. In an internal sense, the CFO must ensure that the right management information is available at the right time and of the right quality and that resources are used in a targeted and value-enhancing manner. Together with the CEO, strategic opportunities are evaluated and investments and acquisitions assessed. Externally, the CFO is responsible for the correct preparation of the annual report and ensures optimal capitalization. Here the students are introduced to an economic perspective on companies.

north

close

Betriebswirtschaftslehre

Die Lehrveranstaltung «Betriebswirtschaftslehre» im Assessmentjahr dient der Vermittlung wichtiger theoretischer Konzepte und Begriffskategorien sowie dem Zugang zu einer modernen Managementlehre.

 

Im Zentrum der Lehrveranstaltung «Betriebswirtschaftslehre» steht ein systemisch-prozessorientiertes Verständnis von Management, Organisation und Umwelt. Die Studierenden lernen, worin die wichtigsten Aufgaben, Herausforderungen und Dilemmas von Management bestehen. Vorlesungen, Übungen und das Selbststudium orientieren sich dabei an der Tradition der St.Galler Managementforschung und am St.Galler Management-Modell (SGMM). Dieses dient als Bezugsrahmen, quasi als geistige Landkarte, um heutige Managementherausforderungen im Kontext ihrer gesellschaftlichen, ökologischen, wirtschaftlichen und technologischen Umwelt einordnen und bewältigen zu können. Ziel ist die Vermittlung eines Verständnisses sowie der Grundlagen für ein verantwortungsvolles integratives Management und unternehmerisches Handeln.

Besondere Schwerpunkte bilden im ersten Jahr die Geschäfts- und Managementprozesse sowie die damit verbunden Fragen der verantwortungsvollen Gestaltung organisationaler Wertschöpfung (Herbst- und Beginn Frühjahrssemester) und die Finanzielle Führung mit einem Fokus auf die Frage, wie der Erfolg einer Unternehmung sichergestellt und zur Darstellung gebracht werden kann (Frühjahrssemester).

Betriebswirtschaftslehre A: Einführung und Grundlagen

 

Marktorientierte Führung

Im ersten Lehrsegment «Marktorientierte Führung» stehen die zentralen Gestaltungsfelder einer kundenzentrierten Wertschöpfung heutiger Unternehmungen im Zentrum. Hier werden die Studierenden in eine betriebswirtschaftliche Perspektive mit einem analytisch-konzeptionellen Aufgabenfokus eingeführt.
 

Das St.Galler Management-Modell

Im zweiten Lehrsegment «Das St.Galler Management-Modell» wird die Frage thematisiert, welche Herausforderungen sich bei der arbeitsteiligen und verteilten Auseinandersetzung mit diesen Aufgaben- und Gestaltungsfeldern unter Einsatz von vielfältiger Fachexpertise ergeben. Wir bearbeiten die Frage, wie eine wirksame Management-Praxis mit dem Ziel einer erfolgreichen Ko-Evolution von Umwelt und Organisation heute zu gestalten ist. Hier werden die Studierenden in eine kommunikationszentrierte Perspektive auf Umwelt, Organisation und deren Management-Praxis eingeführt.

Betriebswirtschaftslehre B: Das St.Galler Management-Modell inkl. Wirtschaftsethik, Finanzielle Führung

 

Das St.Galler Management-Modell inkl. Wirtschaftsethik

Zu Beginn des Frühjahrssemesters wird das im Herbstsemester begonnene Lehrsegment «Das St.Galler Management-Modell» mit der systemischen Perspektive auf Organisation, Umwelt und Management durch die Darstellung der wirtschaftsethischen Implikationen komplettiert. Dabei wird den Studierenden der Stellenwert ethisch-philosophischer Fragen und der wertbezogenen Grundorientierung, mit Fokus auf Verantwortung und Nachhaltigkeit, als integraler Bestandteil der Management-Praxis vermittelt.
 

Finanzielle Führung

Das dritte Lehrsegment «Finanzielle Führung» zeigt, wie aus dem Blickwinkel eines CFO der Erfolg einer Unternehmung sichergestellt und zur Darstellung gebracht werden kann. Innengerichtet muss er dafür sorgen, dass die richtigen Steuerungsinformationen zeit- und qualitätsgerecht vorliegen und die Mittel zielgerichtet und wertsteigernd eingesetzt werden. Gemeinsam mit dem CEO werden die strategischen Möglichkeiten bewertet, Investitionen und Akquisitionen beurteilt. Aussengerichtet verantwortet der CFO die korrekte Erstellung der Jahresberichterstattung und sorgt für die optimale Kapitalisierung. Hier werden die Studierenden in eine ökonomische Perspektive auf Unternehmungen eingeführt.

north