close

Collections & Exhibitions

The HSG library carefully curates media collections and exhibitions.

We regularly put together collections and exhibitions. This includes permanent collections for the university as well as temporary exhibitions on contemporary social issues. The physical selection can be found in the library, the digital collections are available under “collections” on our search platform HSGswisscovery.

Digital

Physical

Our digital collections and exhibitions

Silver Society

In social sciences, we can observe a demographic change, which is referred to as a megatrend called silver society. The role of elderly people (65+) is becoming increasingly important in our society. We stay healthy and fit for longer, which effects our social system. How can and must society react to this change? In this exhibition we have compiled books on the topic of silver society.

Art in Architecture @HSG

Here you will find literature about artists and architects whose works are to be found on the HSG campus and testify to the deep connection between art and architecture at the University of St.Gallen.

Food Waste and Food Culture (Status 05/24)

The topic of food and eating is being viewed increasingly critically today. Criticism of excessive consumption, a lack of animal welfare and the waste of food and resources is more and more becoming the focus of cooking. This is the result of an ongoing development of food and our cooking habits. We have compiled a list of works on the history and culture of food, waste and sustainability and books on food in literature and art.

Best-Readers

Fiction books acquired in recent years in German and English.

80 years of Unisport (Status 01/24)

«Keep moving together» 80 years of Unisport: physical education, physical training, health promotion and incentive to peak performance. On the occasion of the current anniversary, we are presenting a selection from our diverse range on the topic of "sports and fitness" in the library. Discover exciting biographies, training manuals and technical literature.

Publications by HSG members

This collection contains publications written by members of the University of St.Gallen in the past years.

125 years of HSG (Status 09/23)

125 years ago, the University of St. Gallen (HSG) was founded as a business school because eastern Switzerland's textile industry was in need of well educated businessmen. In its history, the university has changed its location twice due to increasing numbers of students: From its first location in the west wing of the Kantonsschule am Burggraben, it moved to a new building in the Notkerstrasse in 1911 and then to its current location on the Rosenberg in 1963. Today, the HSG is a prestigious place of learning and science but at the same time is open to the public thanks to its public lectures and various events.

Banned Books (Status 05/23)

Until the twentieth century, the prohibition of books was a widespread form of censorship and served primarily to preserve the existing balance of power. In some coutries it is still common for the government to ban certain literature. For the most part, these books contain either political, educational or religious subjects which were deemed dangerous. The suppression of these critically viewed books caused a cultural loss. We have gathered a selection of controversial works for you. All titles contain a brief commentary on their banishment.

SQUARE - Architecture and Art (Status 1/23)

The library has assembled a choice selection of publications, which provide information on the architect Sou Fujimoto, pieces of art in and around the SQUARE, as well as on the particularities of this new type of building.

Pride Month (Status 10/22)

Diversity and inclusion have been promoted at the University of St.Gallen for a long time. Since 2020, as a result of a student initiative, the HSG has celebrated Pride Month every October. The library supports this with an exhibition of theme-related literature.

The history of Ukraine and the relationship with Russia (Status 07/22)

This exhibition addresses the history of Ukraine and the relationship with Russia from different perspectives - historical, political, legal, but also literary.

Quick Links

Downloads

Contact

University of St.Gallen
Library
Dufourstrasse 50
CH-9000 St.Gallen
+41 71 224 22 70
bibliothekunisg.ch
+41 79 836 87 76 (WhatsApp-Chat)
 hsglibrary   HSGBibliothekSanktGallen

north

close

Sammlungen & Ausstellungen

Die Universitätbibliothek St.Gallen kuratiert mit viel Sorgfalt Sammlungen und Ausstellungen von Medien.

Wir stellen für Sie regelmässig Sammlungen und Ausstellungen zusammen. Dies können dauerhafte Sammlungen für die HSG sein, aber auch aktuelle Gesellschaftsthemen in einer temporären Ausstellung. Die physischen Zusammenstellungen finden Sie vor Ort, die digitalen auf unserem Rechercheportal HSGswisscovery unter Sammlungen.

Digital

Physisch

Unsere digitalen Sammlungen und Themenausstellungen

Silver Society

In der Wissenschaft lässt sich ein demographischer Wandel feststellen, den man als Megatrend Silver Society bezeichnet. Die Rolle der älteren Personen (65+) wird dabei in der Gesellschaft immer wichtiger. Die Gesellschaft bleibt länger gesund und fit, was Auswirkungen auf das Sozialsystem hat. Wie kann und muss die Gesellschaft mit diesem Wandel umgehen? In dieser Themenausstellung haben wir Bücher zum Thema Silver Society zusammengestellt.

Kunst am Bau @HSG

Hier finden Sie Literatur über Künstler*innen und Architekten, deren Werke sich auf dem HSG-Campus befinden und von der tiefen Verbindung zwischen Kunst und Architektur an der Universität St.Gallen zeugen.

Food Waste und Esskultur (Stand 05/23)

Das Thema Nahrungsmittel und Essen wird heute zunehmend kritisch betrachtet. Kritik an übermässigem Konsum, mangelndem Tierwohl und an der Verschwendung von Lebensmitteln und Ressourcen tritt immer mehr in den Mittelpunkt des Kochens. Dies ist das Ergebnis einer langjährigen Entwicklung der Lebensmittel und unserer Kochgewohnheiten. Wir haben eine Auswahl an Werken zur Geschichte und Kultur des Essens, Verschwendung und Nachhaltigkeit zusammengestellt und mit Büchern über Essen in Literatur und Kunst ergänzt.

Best-Readers

In den letzten Jahren erworbene Belletristik in deutscher und englischer Sprache.

80 Jahre Unisport (Stand 01/24)

«Keep moving together» 80 Jahre Unisport: Bewegungslehre, Körperertüchtigung, Gesundheitsförderung und Ansporn zu Höchstleistungen. Aus Anlass des aktuellen Jubiläums präsentieren wir in der Bibliothek eine Auswahl aus unserem vielfältigen Angebot zum Thema «Sport und Fitness». Entdecken Sie spannende Biografien, Trainingsanleitungen und Fachliteratur.

Publikationen von HSG-Angehörigen

Diese Sammlung beinhaltet Publikationen, welche in den letzten Jahren von Angehörigen der Universität St.Gallen erstellt wurden.

125 Jahre HSG (Stand 09/23)

Vor 125 Jahren wurde die HSG als Handelsakademie zur Ausbildung kaufmännischer Fachkräfte für die ostschweizer Textilindustrie gegründet. Im Laufe der Zeit erfuhr die Hochschule aufgrund steigender Studierendenzahlen zwei Standortwechsel, von der Einmietung in der Kantonsschule am Burggraben über den Neubau an der Notkerstrasse in 1911 bis zum Neubau auf dem Rosenberg in 1963. Heute ist die HSG ein renommierter Ort der Lehre und Wissenschaft, der aber dank des öffentlichen Vorlesungs- und Veranstaltungsangebots einem breiten Publikum offensteht.

Verbotene Bücher (Stand 05/23)

Das Verbieten von Büchern war bis ins 20. Jahrhundert eine verbreitete Art der Zensur und diente vorwiegend der Erhaltung der bestehenden Machtverhältnisse. In einigen Ländern ist das Verbannen von Büchern heute noch üblich. Gründe dafür sind politischer, aufklärerischer oder religiöser Natur. Doch das Unterbinden dieser, als kritisch betrachteten Literatur, bedeutet auch einen Kulturverlust. Wir haben eine Auswahl an umstrittenen Werken für Sie zusammengestellt. Alle Titel enthalten einen kurzen Kommentar zu dessen Verbannung.

Architektur und Kunst (Stand 1/23)

Die Ausstellung zum SQUARE enthält Informationen zum Architekten Sou Fujimoto, zu Kunstwerken im und am Gebäude, sowie zu diesem neuen Bautypus. Veröffentlichungen zu künstlerischen Positionen aus dem Herbstprogramm «Artists in Residence» 2022 ergänzen die Zusammenstellung.

Pride Month (Stand 10/22)

Diversität und Inklusion werden an der Universität St.Gallen bereits lange umgesetzt. Durch eine studentische Initiative wird seit 2020 jeweils im Oktober der Pride Month zelebriert. Die Bibliothek unterstützt diesen mit einer Ausstellung zu themenbezogener Literatur.

Geschichte der Ukraine und das Verhältnis zu Russland (Stand 7/22)

Die Ausstellung thematisiert aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln – historisch, politisch, juristisch, aber auch literarisch – die Geschichte der Ukraine und das Verhältnis zu Russland.

Weiterführende Links

Downloads

Kontakt

Universität St.Gallen
Bibliothek
Dufourstrasse 50
CH-9000 St.Gallen
+41 71 224 22 70
bibliothekunisg.ch
+41 79 836 87 76 (WhatsApp-Chat)
 hsglibrary   HSGBibliothekSanktGallen

north