About the Law School

The Law School is committed to the highest standards of teaching and research.


The Law School (LS-HSG) offers three programmes: a classical programme in law (leading to a Bachelor’s degree [BLaw] / a Master’s degree [MLaw] / a Doctorate in Law [Doctor iuris]); a programme which combines the study of law and of economics (leading to a Bachelor’s degree [BLE] / a Master’s degree [MLE] in Law and Economics); and a programme "Master of International Law (MIL)" in English language. Each programme is coordinated by a professor of the Law School who acts as the programme director. They are supported by an executive director and two administrative directors.

Law School


Law and Economics

International Law (MIL)



Teaching and research

Our team of permanently employed professors is fully dedicated to our students and their successful studies at the Law School. Numerous lecturers and visiting professors add to their efforts.

Structure of the Law School

The "Assembly" (Abteilungsversammlung) is the decision-making body of the Law School. It is composed of the full professors, associate professors, senior lecturers, assistant professors as well as representatives of the junior faculty and the students. It elects a Dean and Vice Dean who serve for a period of two years. Since February 1, 2023, Professor Peter Hettich is Dean of the Law School, and Professor Isabelle Wildhaber is Vice Dean.

Advisory Board

As from spring semester 2015, the Law School is supported by an external honorary advisory committee in order to align the department’s research and teaching activities with current developments in the field.

The market for legal services is developing at a rapid rate: Globalisation, increased regulation, changes in the relationship between those who supply and those who demand legal services, the enlistment of generation Y in law offices, courts, administrative agencies and corporate legal departments, and even cutting-edge IT and communication technologies all present new and constantly growing challenges to lawyers today.

As a law school, we want to address these developments and remain practice-oriented, as this will provide motivation and inspiration for future generations of lawyers.

The Law School of the University of St.Gallen has therefore decided to form an advisory board made up of key practitioners in the field of law. By consulting this advisory board, we want to clarify and validate the conceivability of our goals. In doing so, we are following a successful tradition at HSG in placing great emphasis on applied research and teaching methods.

Kathrin Dietrich Vice-President of the Federal Administrative Court
Dr. Felix Ehrat Member of the Board of Directors, Lecturer HSG, former Group General Counsel of Novartis and Member of the Executive Management of Novartis
Fredy Faessler, lic.iur. Head of the Justice Department St.Gallen
Urs Freytag, lic.iur. HSG Attorney at Law and Public Notary, factum advocatur
Dr. Christine Hehli Hidber Partner Binder Rechtsanwälte Zurich
Maj Dr. iur. Andrea Jug-Höhener, LL.M. Head of Criminal Investigation Department, Zurich City Police
Dr. Roland Keller Partner Raggenbass Attorney at Law in Kreuzlingen
Dr. Roland Maurhofer Partner at the consulting firm ELIGENDO AG, Zurich
Dominique Mueller, Attorney at Law, LL.M. Partner, Lenz & Staehelin, Zurich
Dr. Martha Niquille Federal Judge, Swiss Federal Tribunal Lausanne
Dr. Eveline Saupper Member of the Board of Directors
PD Dr. Mark Schweizer President Federal Patent Court St.Gallen
Martin Steiger, lic.iur. HSG Attorney, Steiger Legal AG Zurich
Prof. Dr. Dirk Uwer Partner Hengeler Mueller, Dusseldorf
Sabine Wey, MLaw, LL.M. and MLP-HSG Assistant Director, Head of Compliance, Swiss National Bank in Zurich
Mitglieder ex officio
Prof. Dr. Peter Hettich Dean Law School HSG
Prof. Dr. Isabelle Wildhaber Vice Dean Law School HSG

Continuing links


Law School (LS-HSG)
University of St.Gallen
Bodanstrasse 3
CH-9000 St.Gallen
Write E-Mail
Telephone number