close

Our Curriculum

Broad knowledge in Business Administration and the opportunity for an individual specialisation - with a Major in Business Administration, you will get both!

In the Major in Business Administration, we focus on a holistic education. Our graduates will be able to take on leadership tasks and act social responsibly in a highly dynamic environment. Soft skills, which are taught in the HSG Contextual Studies, are just as important as intellectual and methodological skills.

The Major in Business Administration follows the Assessment Year and consists of 120 credits. It is designed for a standard study period of 4 semesters. About half of the courses are offered in German and half in English. Therefore, students can "mix and match" between courses in either language. However, at least 12 ECTS must be earned in the "other" language.

The curriculum distinguishes between compulsory and core elective courses as well as courses in Contextual Studies. In addition, students must complete a Bachelor's thesis.

After passing the Assessment Year, you will deepen your knowledge of various organisational management topics in the Major in Business Administration. It comprises 120 credits and is designed for a standard duration of study of 4 semesters. 

The semester numbers for the individual courses are recommendations only. It may make sense to take the courses in a different order, especially with regard to the planning of exchange semesters.

You want to give your degree a profile that you can communicate to future employers? In the Major in Business Administration, you can choose a voluntarily specialisation, which will be shown in the grade transcript of your Bachelor's diploma. Specialisations are possible in nine areas:

  • Accounting, Controlling, Auditing
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Finance
  • International Management
  • Leadership & Human Resource Management
  • Marketing
  • Operations and Innovation Management
  • Strategic Management
  • Entrepreneurial Informatics

In each of these areas, we offer packages of compulsory and core elective courses. In addition, you will complete a Capstone Project and/or write your Bachelor's thesis in the same thematic area. In the end, it all adds up to the desired specialisation. 

 

The compulsory area covers the courses that must be taken by all students in the Major in Business Administration. Most courses are offered every semester, alternating in German and English.

The content of the compulsory subjects is taught through contact study (lectures and exercises), supplemented by self-study.

These are the compulsory courses of the Major in Business Administration:

 

Course ECTS Language

Semester (Recommendation)

Marketing 4 D/E 3 (Autumn)*/4 (Spring)**
Strategisches Management / Strategic Management 4 D/E 3 (Autumn)*/4 (Spring)**
Leadership & Human Resource Management 4 D/E 3 (Autumn*/4 (Spring)**
Methodenkurs: Statistik / Methods: Statistics 4 D/E 3 (Autumn)*/4 (Spring)**
Methodenkurs: Empirische Sozialforschung / Methods: Empirical Social Research 4 D/E 5 (Autumn)*/4 (Spring)**

Grundlagen und Methoden der Informatik für Wirtschaftswissenschaften/

Fundamentals and Methods of Computer Science for Business Studies

8 D/E 4 (Spring)*/3 (Autumn)**
Corporate Finance 4 E 3 (Autumn)**/4 (Spring)**
Accounting, Controlling, Auditing 4 D/E 4 (Spring)*/3 (Autumn)**
Einführung in das Operations-Management / Introduction to Operations Management 4 D/E 4 (Spring)*/3 (Autumn)**
Capstone-Projekt / Capstone Project 8 D/E*** 5 (Autumn) or 6 (Spring)

*     Course is held in German (D).

**    Course is held in English (EN).

***  In many courses there are projects offered in both languages. The associated events will be in English in autumn and in German in spring.

     


 

You complement the compulsory area with core elective and elective courses. By selecting the courses, you give your studies an individual profile. 

Among the core electives, you can choose from a variety of courses with a focus on Business Administration, depending on your personal preferences. In the autumn and spring semesters, different courses are offered in German and English. These are typically weighted with 4 ECTS. An overview of the current compulsory elective courses can be found in the course list.

In the elective area you can take courses from other majors (e.g. Economics, Law, International Affairs...).

 

In the Contextual Studies (24 ECTS) you have a wide choice of courses from other disciplines (incl. language courses) that allow you to broaden your own horizon. 

Two examples from the many courses offered within the Contextual Studies: "Power, Politics, and Democracy - Who Runs the World?" or "Programmers, Hackers and Hacks - The People and Practices Behind our Machines".

 

Internationalisation and intercultural exchange are important topics in the Bachelor in Business Administration. We very much encourage you to spend an exchange semester abroad, either at one of our many partner universities or at a university of your choice. You can find detailed information about the exchange here.

Study Business Administration in German or English? You can decide for yourself by choosing the corresponding courses. There is only one restriction: You must earn at least 12 ECTS in the respective "other" language.

Foreign languages are important to us. By the time you complete your bachelor's degree, we require proof of knowledge of two foreign languages (in addition to your school language). You will attend a first foreign language course in the Assessment Year and learn a second language during the bachelor's degree. The range of foreign languages is broad; in addition to European languages, there are courses in Arabic, Chinese and Japanese at various skill levels.

 

Do you know what a capstone is? It is the last stone you put into an archway or vault during construction.

That's why you take the Capstone Project toward the end of your Bachelor in Business Administration. As the "last brick," it intertwines theory with practice. You will apply everything you have learned so far in order to solve a practical problem of a company. You will therefore be working as a "management consultant", designing innovative solutions. Experienced faculty will accompany you, answer your questions and support you with suggestions and tips. A joint kickoff and a closing event are also part of the Capstone Project, which is weighted with 8 ECTS.

The Bachelor's thesis (12 ECTS) is a scientific paper. You will deal in depth with an issue from an area of your own choice from a management perspective. In the Bachelor's thesis you will follow the relevant scientific research designs and principles.

north

close

Unser Curriculum

Ein breites betriebswirtschaftliches Grundstudium und die Möglichkeit zu einer individuellen Vertiefung - der Major in Betriebswirtschaftslehre bietet Ihnen beides!

Im Major BWL setzen wir auf eine ganzheitliche Ausbildung. Unsere Absolvent:innen sollen in einem hoch dynamischen Umfeld Führungsaufgaben und gesellschaftliche Verantwortung übernehmen. Soft Skills, die im HSG-Kontextstudium vermittelt werden, sind dabei ebenso gefragt wie intellektuelle und methodische Fähigkeiten.

Der Major Betriebswirtschaftslehre schliesst an das Assessmentjahr an und umfasst 120 Credits. Er ist auf eine Regel-Studiendauer von 4 Semestern ausgelegt. Durch die Wahl entsprechender Kurse kann vorwiegend auf Deutsch oder auf Englisch studiert werden. Mindestens 12 ECTS sind aber auf jeden Fall in der jeweils "anderen" Sprache zu erbringen.

Das Curriculum unterscheidet zwischen Pflicht- und Pflichtwahl-Bereich sowie dem Kontextstudium. Dazu kommt die Bachelor-Arbeit.

 

 

Nach bestandenem Assessmentjahr vertiefen Sie im Major Betriebswirtschaftslehre Ihr Wissen zu verschiedenen Themen des Managements von Organisationen. Der Major Betriebswirtschaftslehre umfasst 120 Credits und ist auf eine Regel-Studiendauer von 4 Semestern ausgelegt. 

Bei den Semesterangaben zu den einzelnen Kursen handelt es sich ausdrücklich um Empfehlungen. Insbesondere im Hinblick auf die Einplanung von Austauschsemestern kann es sinnvoll sein, die Lehrveranstaltungen in einer anderen Reihenfolge zu absolvieren.

Wollen Sie Ihrem Studium ein Profil geben, um es künftigen Arbeitgebern zu kommunizieren? Im Major BWL können Sie freiwillig eine zeugnisrelevante Vertiefung wählen. Diese wird im Notenauszug zum Bachelor-Zeugnis ausgewiesen. Vertiefungen sind in neun Bereichen möglich:

  • Accounting, Controlling, Auditing
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Finance
  • International Management
  • Leadership & Human Resource Management
  • Marketing
  • Operations- und Innovationsmanagement
  • Strategisches Management
  • Unternehmerische Informatik

Zu jedem dieser Bereiche werden Pakete von Veranstaltungen aus Pflicht- und Pflichtwahlfächern angeboten. Zusammen mit dem Capstone-Projekt und/oder der Bachelor-Arbeit aus demselben Bereich ergeben diese die gewählte Vertiefung.

Einen Überblick über den Fächerplan des Majors BWL entnehmen Sie dem Studienplan.

Der Pflichtbereich umfasst die Lehrveranstaltungen, die von allen Studierenden des Majors BWL absolviert werden müssen. Die meisten Kurse werden jeweils einmal pro Semester abwechselnd auf Deutsch und Englisch angeboten.

Die Lerninhalte werden in den Pflichtfächern generell im Kontaktstudium (Vorlesungen und Übungen) und im Selbststudium vermittelt.

Das betriebswirtschaftliche Pflichtprogramm setzt sich aus folgenden Kursen zusammen:

Kurs ECTS Sprache Semester
Strategisches Management /
Strategic Management
4 D/E 3 (Herbst)*/
4 (Frühjahr)**
Leadership & Human Resource Management 4 D/E 3 (Herbst)*/
4 (Frühjahr)**
Methodenkurs: Statistik /
Methods: Statistics
4 D/E 3 (Herbst)*/
4 (Frühjahr)**
Methodenkurs: Empirische Sozialforschung /
Methods: Social Science Research Methods
4 D/E 3 (Herbst)*/
4 (Frühjahr)**
Grundlagen und Methoden der Informatik für Wirtschaftswissenschaften /
Fundamentals and Methods of Computer Science
for Business Studies
8 D/E 4 (Frühjahr)*/
3 (Herbst)**
Corporate Finance 4 E 4 (Frühjahr)*/
3 (Herbst)**
Accounting, Controlling, Auditing 4 D/E 4 (Frühjahr)*/
3 (Herbst)**
Einführung in das Operations-Management /
Introduction to Operations Management
4 D/E 4 (Frühjahr)*/
3 (Herbst)**
Capstone-Projekt /
Capstone-Project
8 D/E*** 5 (Herbst) oder
6 (Frühjahr)
* Veranstaltung wird auf Deutsch gelesen.
** Veranstaltung wird auf Englisch gelesen.
*** Es sind Veranstaltungen in beiden Sprachen vorgesehen.
Die Kurssprache wird für jedes Capstone-Projekt einzeln festgelegt.
     

Mit Pflichtwahl- und Wahlfächern ergänzen Sie den Pflichtbereich. Durch die Wahl der Kurse geben Sie Ihrem Studium eine individuelle Ausrichtung. 

Im Pflichtwahlbereich wählen Sie - ja nach persönlicher Neigung - aus einer Vielzahl an Veranstaltungen mit betriebswirtschaftlichem Schwerpunkt. Das Angebot umfasst im Herbst- und im Frühlingssemester unterschiedliche Kurse auf Deutsch und Englisch. Diese werden alle mit 4 ECTS gewichtet. Eine Übersicht über die aktuellen Pflichtwahlkurse finden sie im Vorlesungsverzeichnis.

Im Wahlbereich können Sie zudem Lehrveranstaltungen aus anderen Majors belegen (z.B. VWL, Recht, International Affairs...).

 

Im Kontextstudium (24 ECTS) haben Sie eine grosse Auswahl an nicht-fachbezogenen Kursen (inkl. Sprachkursen), die Ihnen ermöglichen, den eigenen Horizont zu erweitern. 

"Orte der Vielfalt - Gender & Diversity im öffentlichen Raum" oder "Konsum, Verantwortung, Nachhaltigkeit" - das sind zwei Beispiele aus den zahlreichen Kursen, die im Rahmen des Kontextstudiums angeboten werden.

Internationalisierung und interkultureller Austausch sind wichtige Themen im Bachelor BWL. Wir begrüssen es sehr, wenn Sie ein Austauschsemester im Ausland verbringen, entweder an einer unserer vielen Partneruniversitäten oder an einer Universität Ihrer Wahl. Umfassende Informationen zum Austausch finden Sie hier.

Im Bachelor BWL auf Deutsch oder Englisch studieren? Durch die Wahl entsprechender Kurse können Sie das selber entscheiden. Einzige Einschränkung: Mindestens 12 ECTS sind in der jeweiligen "anderen" Sprache zu erbringen.

Fremdsprachen sind uns wichtig. Bis zum Abschluss des Bachelorstudiums verlangen wir den Nachweis über Kenntnisse in zwei Fremdsprachen (zusätzlich zur Schulsprache). Eine erste Fremdsprache besuchen Sie im Assessment-Jahr, eine zweite erlernen Sie während des Bachelorstudiums. Das Fremdsprachenangebot ist breit; neben europäischen Sprachen gibt es Kurse in Arabisch, Chinesisch und Japanisch auf verschiedenen Stufen.

 

Wissen Sie, was ein Capstone ist? Es ist dies der letzte Stein, den man beim Bauen in einen Torbogen oder ein Gewölbe einfügt.

Darum besuchen Sie das Capstone-Projekt gegen Ende Ihres Studiums im Bachelor BWL. Als "letzter Stein" verzahnt es die Theorie mit der Praxis. Sie wenden alles, was Sie bisher im Bachelor BWL gelernt haben, beim Lösen eines praktischen Problems aus einer Unternehmung an. Sie sind also - vielleicht zum ersten Mal - als "Unternehmensberater:innen" im Einsatz und suchen nach innovativen Lösungen. Erfahrene Dozierende begleiten Sie dabei, stehen Ihnen bei Fragen zur Seite und unterstützen Sie mit Anregungen und Tipps. Eine gemeinsame Kickoff- und eine Abschlussveranstaltung gehören ebenfalls zum Capstone-Projekt. Dieses wird mit 8 ECTS gewichtet.

Die Bachelorarbeit (12 ECTS) ist eine wissenschaftliche Arbeit. Sie setzen sich vertieft - aus betriebswirtschaftlicher Sicht - mit einer Fragestellung eigener Wahl auseinander. In der Bachelorarbeit orientieren Sie sich an den einschlägigen wissenschaftlichen Forschungsdesigns und -prinzipien.

north