People - 16.09.2020 - 00:00 

Julian Teicke voted HSG Founder of the Year 2020

The coronavirus crisis meant that the yearly award for the “HSG Founder of the Year” could not be handed out in March as planned, during the START Summit startup conference in St.Gallen. Postponed until 15 September 2020, the award was presented at a small scale event in Zurich. Julian Teicke, representing Wefox, was named “HSG Founder of the Year 2020”.

16 September 2020. Julian Teicke began his entrepreneurial career as Entrepreneur in Residence with the startup chocri. In 2010, he co-founded the Swiss startup “DeinDeal”. Since 2017, he has been a founding investor for several startups. In 2015, inspired by his father, he ventured into the insurance sector. This step led him to found Wefox, and subsequently to receive the award “HSG Founder of the Year 2020”. The Werner Jackstädt Foundation Prize for CHF 10,000 was awarded for the 10th time this year.

Digital all-in-one insurance solution

Wefox is a digital platform that offers an all-in-one insurance solution. The startup offers clients, brokers and insurance companies a smart, efficient way to manage insurance and financial products. Wefox is successfully digitalising what was formerly a very traditional industry: it has already won more than 300,000 customers since its launch in 2015. Investors are also enthusiastic: Wefox raised USD 235 million in two rounds of financing in 2019 and the company is now valued at over USD 1.5 billion.

HSG Founders of the Year from 2011 to 2018

In previous years the prize has been won by: 

Kilian Wagner, founder of VIU (Eyewear)

Valentin Stalf, founder of the smartphone bank N26

Lea von Bidder, inventor of the “Ava” fertility bracelet (2017)

“on” running shoe inventor, Caspar Coppetti (2016)

Laura Behrens Wu (2015), founder of the shipping software company “Shippo”

Alexander Graubner-Müller (2014), founder of the “Kreditech” mini-loans platform

“Soma Analytics” founder, Johann Huber (2013) with his anti-stress app

“” founder Adrian Locher (2012)

Dr. Alexander Ilic (2011), founder of Dacuda, which developed a scanner mouse

The Members of the Jury for the 2020 startup competition

Prof. Dietmar Grichnik, Professor of Entrepreneurship at the HSG

Dr. Alexander Fust, Member of the Extended Management Team at KMU-HSG

Maria-Luisa Fuchs, Project Manager, Startup@HSG

Diego Probst, Head, Startup@HSG


Discover our special topics