Campus - 08.07.2010 - 00:00 

Dies academicus 2009

Numerous guests from academia, trade and industry, and politics joined the University of St.Gallen in celebrating its traditional dies academicus on 16 May 2009. This year’s guest region was the Rorschach area.


16 May 2009. The following personalities were awarded honorary doctorates: Cantonal Judge Rolf Vetterli; Prof. Michael Power, London School of Economics and Political Science; Dr. Marco Mona, Attorney-at-Law; and Prof. Gene M. Grossman, Princeton University, N.J. The Latsis Prize of Geneva’s Latsis Foundation was awarded to Dr. Frédéric Thiesse.

Construction of the Future
In his keynote address, President Ernst Mohr spoke about the “Construction of the Future” in times of financial and economic crises and about the necessary courses to be set for this purpose at the HSG.

Address by President Ernst Mohr (in German)
Address by Walter Fust, Chairman of UNESCO’s International Programme for the Development of Communication (in German)
Address by Felix Walker, former CEO of Raiffeisen Group Switzerland (in German)
Address by Ulrich Bremi, Honorary Senator of the University of St.Gallen (in German)
Address by Alfred Meier, former President of the University of St.Gallen (in German)
Address by Philipp Fleckner, Student Union President  (in German)

Discover our special topics