People - 01.07.2021 - 00:00 

President and Vice-Presidents elected for the 2022-24 term of office

The President and Vice-Presidents werde elected for the 2022-24 term of office. Prof. Dr. Martin Eppler was elected as the new Vice-President; he will take over Studies & Academic Affairs from Prof. Dr. Peter Leibfried.

1 July 2021. Like all the HSG’s other academic organs, the President and Vice-Presidents are elected for two years. The next term of office will last from 1 February 2011 to 31 January 2024. Prof. Dr. Bernhard Ehrenzeller will continue to hold office as President of the University of St.Gallen (HSG) for two years from 1 February 2022. Vice-Presidents Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schmid (External Relations), Prof. Dr. Thomas Zellweger (Research & Faculty) and Prof. Dr. Urs Fueglistaller (Institutes & Executive Education) will also remain in office.

The new member of the President’s Board will be Prof. Dr. Martin Eppler. He is Full Professor of Media and Communication Management at the University of St.Gallen. Martin Eppler concluded his studies at the HSG and then obtained a doctor’s degree from the University of Geneva before returning to the HSG to habilitate. In 2003, Martin Eppler was awarded a chair of information and communication management at the Università della Svizzera italiana in Lugano before being appointed full professor at the HSG. Martin Eppler is Director of the Institute for Media and Communication Management (MCM-HSG). His visiting professorships include Atlanta, Cambridge, Helsinki, Lima, Peking and Vancouver, and he worked as an academic consultant for various international organisations and companies. Martin Eppler has published more than 20 scientific books. His research focuses on knowledge management and visualisation, management communication, visual communication and communication management.

On the President’s Board, Martin Eppler will take over Studies & Academic Affairs from Prof. Dr. Peter Leibfried, who after three years as a Vice-President will step down and concentrate on his Full Professorship in Auditing and Accounting again. Peter Leibfried was first elected Vice-President for Planning and Development (now Institutes & Executive Education). As Vice-President for Studies & Academic Affairs since 2020, he has achieved extraordinary things with his team during the Covid-19 pandemic. For one thing, they had to master the sudden changeover to digital and later hybrid teaching formats at the University of St.Gallen and to run a great number of central and decentral examinations under difficult conditions. The HSG would like to thank him and the members of his Vice-President’s Board for their great commitment and is looking forward to his further activities in research and teaching at the University of St.Gallen. The further members of the President’s Board will continue in office during the term of 2022-24:

•    Prof. Dr. Bernhard Ehrenzeller, President, since 2020

•    Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schmid, Vice-President, External Relations, since 2019

•    Prof. Dr. Thomas Zellweger, Vice-President, Research & Faculty, since 2020

•    Prof. Dr. Urs Fueglistaller, Vice-President, Institutes & Executive Education, since 2021

The University Statutes stipulate that besides the President and the Vice-Presidents, the General Counsel, the Director of Administration and the Dean of Studies are also members of the President’s Board. The President may co-opt further members of the University:

Discover our special topics