__Hinweis: Diese Seite verwendet Javascript für dynamische Darstellungen und interaktive Objekte wie Podcast.

General information

At the Bachelor’s Level you receive a generalist education. You acquire a broad spectrum of knowledge, preparing you for diverse and demanding work.

Zwei Studenten auf dem Weg zur Universität.

Assessment Year
Studies begin with the Assessment Year. The objective is to introduce students to our academic subjects as well as requirements and goals in order to help you to find out whether our requirements and areas of focus fit well with your own interests. All students must complete the same curriculum in this first year. From Autumn Semester 2013, the Assessment Year will continue in its time-tested teaching quality, but now in two separate tracks (German/English). This is being done in order to improve teacher/student ratio. There is an option between studying in German (German Track) or in English (English Track).

Bachelor’s Level
After completing the “fixed menu” of the Assessment Year, the Bachelor's Level offers you an “à la carte” course of study – a broad, individually-focused programme with a maximum degree of freedom. In particular, you can choose from a broad range of elective course offerings and Contextual Studies. From Autumn Semester 2014, the majors in Business Administration, Economics and International Affairs can be completed in a flexible mix of English and German. In the course of their Bachelor's studies, students must, however, earn a minimum number of credits from core studies' courses in German and English. Language courses are on offer.

First qualifying degree for a career
After acquiring the Bachelor’s degree, you may either continue studying at the Master’s Level or enter the working world: The Bachelor’s degree is conceived as a professional qualification which allows you to gain your first practical experience.

Credits
The B.A. HSG degree requires completion of 180 ECTS credits, including the Assessment Year (60 ECTS). ECTS stands for European Credit Transfer System. One credit point is equivalent to 30 hours of work at the University of St.Gallen, including lectures, independent studies, semester projects and examinations.

Our Bachelor programmes (majors) have a regular duration of two years. The allowed number of semesters for the Bachelor's Level is limited to 10 semesters. 

As opposed to the Assessment Level, you must now decide on one of five majors.

The five majors available are:

  • Business Administration (English and German)
  • Economics (English and German)
  • International Affairs (English and German) 
  • Law 
  • Law and Economics

Elective subjects
The major can be intensified or broadened with elective subjects, making it possible to individualise the degree course. A third of the courses of the Contact Studies are available for this purpose. You can make this selection from the courses from the University of St.Gallen, and with some limitations, also from other programmes at other universities.

The three-pillar model of course remains in place at the Bachelor's Level. You therefore complete 25% of your course work in the Contextual Studies, where a wide range of courses is available to you regardless of your major.

Further information

Side view of the crowded main lecture hall during a lecture.

Downloads

Accreditations
  • Logo AACSB
  • Logo EQUIS
Member of
  • Logo CEMS
  • Logo PIM
  • Logo APSIA
  • Logo gbsn
Share it

University of St.Gallen - School
of Management, Economics,
Law, Social Sciences and
International Affairs (HSG)
Dufourstrasse 50
CH-9000 St.Gallen
Tel +41 71 224 21 11
Fax +41 71 224 28 16
© Copyright 2016 University
of St.Gallen, Switzerland · General legal information · Data privacy statement · Google Tag Manager

From insight to impact

__Hinweis: Diese Seite verwendet Javascript für dynamische Darstellungen und interaktive Objekte wie Podcast.

Allgemeine Informationen

Auf der Bachelor-Stufe erwartet Sie eine Generalistenausbildung. Sie erwerben ein breit gefächertes Wissen, das Sie auf vielfältige und anspruchsvolle Aufgaben vorbereitet.

Zwei Studenten auf dem Weg zur Universität.

Assessmentjahr
Das Studium beginnt mit dem Assessmentjahr. Sie führt in unsere wissenschaftlichen Fächer, die Anforderungen und Zielsetzungen ein. Zugleich können Sie herausfinden, ob unsere Anforderungen und Schwerpunkte Ihren eigenen Interessen entsprechen. Alle Studierenden durchlaufen in diesem ersten Jahr die gleichen Etappen. Das Assessmentjahr wird ab Herbstsemester 2013 neu in zwei getrennten Tracks (Deutsch/Englisch) zur Verbesserung des Betreuungsverhältnisses angeboten. Es kann wahlweise in Deutsch (deutscher Track) oder in Englisch (englischer Track) studiert werden.

Bachelor-Ausbildung
Nach dem standardisierten «Menü» des Assessmentjahres bieten wir in der Bachelor-Ausbildung nun sozusagen ein Studium «à la Carte»: Ein breites Studium mit individueller Schwerpunktsetzung und möglichst vielen Freiheiten. Insbesondere stehen Ihnen eine Palette von verschiedenartigen Angeboten im Wahlbereich und im Kontextstudium zur Auswahl. Ab dem Herbstsemester 2014 können die Majors in Betriebswirtschaftslehre, Volkswirtschaftslehre und International Affairs erstmals in einer flexiblen Mischung aus englischer und deutscher Sprache studiert werden. Im Verlaufe des Bachelor-Studiums muss jedoch eine Mindestanzahl Credits des Fachstudiums sowohl in deutscher als auch in englischer Studiensprache absolviert werden. Entsprechende Sprachkurse werden zur Vorbereitung angeboten.

Berufsqualifizierender Erstabschluss
Nach dem Bachelor-Abschluss können Sie entweder direkt auf der Master-Stufe weiterstudieren oder erste Berufserfahrungen sammeln: Der Bachelor-Abschluss ist als berufsqualifizierender Erstabschluss konzipiert und ermöglicht den direkten Einstieg in die Praxis.

Credits
Für den Abschluss als B.A. HSG müssen 180 ECTS erworben werden, inkl. Assessmentjahr (60 ECTS). ECTS bedeutet «European Credit Transfer System». Ein Credit-Punkt entspricht an der Universität St.Gallen einem Arbeitspensum von 30 Stunden. Er beinhaltet Vorlesungen, Selbststudium, Semesterarbeiten und Prüfungen.

Unsere Bachelor-Programme (Majors) haben eine Regel-Studiendauer von zwei Jahren. Die maximale Studiendauer für die Bachelor-Ausbildung ist auf 10 Semester begrenzt.

Im Gegensatz zum Assessmentjahr müssen Sie sich nun für einen von fünf Studienschwerpunkten (Majors) entscheiden.

Die fünf zur Auswahl stehenden Majors sind:

  • Betriebswirtschaftslehre (Deutsch und Englisch) 
  • Volkswirtschaftslehre (Deutsch und Englisch)
  • International Affairs (Deutsch und Englisch)
  • Rechtswissenschaft
  • Rechtswissenschaft mit Wirtschaftswissenschaften

Wahlfächer
Der Major kann durch die Wahlfächer vertieft oder ausgeweitet und auf diese Weise nach individuellen und persönlichen Massgaben gestaltet werden. Dafür steht Ihnen ein Drittel der Veranstaltungen des Kontaktstudiums zur Verfügung. Sie können diese Wahl aus dem Studienangebot der Universität St.Gallen, mit Einschränkungen auch aus Programmen anderer Universitäten treffen.

Das Drei-Säulen-Modell bleibt auf der Bachelor-Stufe natürlich weiterhin erhalten. 25% der Studienleistung erbringen Sie daher im Kontextstudium, wo Ihnen unabhängig vom gewählten Major eine breite Auswahl an Kursen offensteht.

Weitere Informationen

Seitenansicht des voll besetzten Auditorium Maximum während einer Vorlesung.

Downloads

Mehr zum Thema

Akkreditierungen
  • Logo AACSB
  • Logo EQUIS
Mitglied von
  • Logo CEMS
  • Logo PIM
  • Logo APSIA
  • Logo gbsn
Share it

Universität St.Gallen - Hochschule für Wirtschafts-, Rechts- und Sozialwissenschaften sowie Internationale Beziehungen (HSG)
Dufourstrasse 50, CH-9000 St.Gallen, Tel +41 (0)71 224 21 11, Fax +41 (0)71 224 28 16
© Copyright 2014 Universität St.Gallen, Schweiz · Allgemeine rechtliche Informationen · Datenschutz · Google Analytics